First-Ever CBTU Distinction Awards Recognize Industry Changemakers in Apprenticeship, Health and Safety and Community Benefits

29 Apr, 2019

– Minister Patty Hajdu joins Annual Canadian Building Trades Unions Conference to recognize thought leaders in the construction industry –

Canada’s Building Trades Unions (CBTU) opened their annual conference with a celebration of labour leaders, construction owners, employers and government who have made significant contributions to their fields and supported nation building through creating sustainable development approaches that transform the lives of Canadians.

“Canada’s Building Trades Unions selected the award recipients for their demonstrated commitment to support, build and transform the lives of Canadians through leadership development, skill growth, positive community impact, personal accountability or health and safety,” said Arlene Dunn, Director, Canada’s Building Trades Unions. “CBTU’s members build, maintain and renovate infrastructure across Canada. They also lead, give back and impact the industries and communities they work in, in profound ways. This was an opportunity to celebrate them.”

2019 CBTU Distinction Award Recipients

Community Benefit Champions

For the combined leadership to change lives through community benefit agreements in the Province of British Columbia, Tom Sigurdson, Executive Director of the B.C. Building Trades Council and, Wayne Peppard, Council Representative with the Allied Hydro Council of B.C., and Premier of British Columbia John Horgan.

Health and Safety Champions

For their lifetime of work to ban asbestos and continuous lobbying to eradicate the legacy of asbestos, and build a comprehensive asbestos strategy for Canada, Lee Loftus and Alec Farquhar, Asbestos Free Canada.

Health and Safety Champions

For their dedication and committment to health and safety on the Muskrat Falls Project in Newfoundland and Labrador, Darin King, Executive Director of Trades NL and, Gilbert Bennett, Executive Vice President of Nalcor Energy Power Development.

Apprenticeship Champions

For their unique and progressive approach to apprenticeship training through the REWARD Program, Senior Manager Construction and Turnaround for Irving Oil, David Simon, and Steve Morrison, Canadian Director for UA Canada.